chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

Chocolate Cake in 5 mins, Anyone?

with 15 comments

Hey there! I’m today’s guest blogger, Z, but most of the times I’m ovenhaven, or [z:six]. Big shoutout to Nabby who sounds like she’s having a great time in the land down under!

Being a full-time baker, one of the questions I get asked quite often is how I do it. I get readers telling me that baking is difficult, much too time-consuming, or just too confusing. Well, now that the weekend’s here (everyone go ‘Wheee!’), I thought what better way to celebrate five days of hard work, than with a five-minute chocolate mug cake. And psst, no real baking required.

Five-Minute Chocolate Mug Cake
(adapted from here)

50g dark chocolate
3 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons plain flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3 tablespoons sugar
1 egg
3 tablespoons milk

  1. Melt the butter and chocolate in a double boiler. Set aside to cool.
  2. Add flour, ground cinnamon and sugar to a small mixing bowl, and mix well. Add the egg and mix thoroughly. Pour in the milk and mix well. Add the melted chocolate and mix again.
  3. Pour the mixture into a large microwavable coffee mug. Microwave for 2 minutes on medium, 1 minute on high. It should be cooked (skewer test comes out with moist crumbs), but still a lil moist. Remember, it will continue to cook while standing.
  4. Allow to cool a little, give yourself a pat on the back, and indulge!
Written by zsixshutter

July 16, 2010 at 10:06 am

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome! Can’t wait to try it! :D

    mynakedlunch

    July 16, 2010 at 10:25 am

  2. Me neither! Looks good! And the serving size is perfect for keeping the waistline trim (and gives you the perfect excuse not to share, hehehe!)

    Nabilah

    July 16, 2010 at 11:03 am

  3. Mmmmmmmm, I’m salivating already!

    Nadia

    July 16, 2010 at 11:13 am

  4. Everyone should give it a go! And feel free to give your own add-ins, like a piece of chocolate bar, chocolate chips or even marshmallows ~nomnom :P

    zsixshutter

    July 16, 2010 at 2:40 pm

  5. I am going to give this a go!! No-bake, YES!

    greenlaundry

    July 16, 2010 at 5:04 pm

  6. yum yum yum, im gonna try this!

    sunshinelevelle

    July 16, 2010 at 6:48 pm

  7. You are quick to bake! This cake is so moist and so easy to make. Glad you liked it.

    Ellie (Almost Bourdain)

    July 17, 2010 at 7:08 am

  8. This is so convenient! I think I’ll eat it with vanilla ice cream! :)

    fuzzygreenlights

    July 18, 2010 at 9:44 pm

  9. OMG this is AWESOME! Plus I love the fact u don’t need an oven for this.

    ilyana

    July 19, 2010 at 5:25 am

  10. […] saw this post from Oven Haven on my twitter feed a couple of days ago and I was determined to do something about […]

  11. […] and are privy to the fact that I’ve included this recipe when I guest-blogged over at Chai & Biskut a couple of days ago, and mentioned it on my other blog. Now if you find the photograph absolutely […]

  12. […] on Twitter, and are privy to the fact that I’ve included this recipe when I guest-blogged over at Chai & Biskut a couple of days ago, and mentioned it on my other blog. Now if you find the photograph absolutely […]

  13. AWESOME!

    Shaheen

    July 21, 2010 at 3:40 am

  14. […] Chocolate Cake… in a mug – And it only takes 5 minutes.  This could be deadly… […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

