chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

old books don’t freak me out

with 2 comments

I love 2nd hand book sales. So so much.

I went shopping today, bought some stuff for my friends and then I chanced upon a most awesome book sale. I initially went past the shop, thinking that I had no time to look for the good books, but somehow I changed my mind soon after and doubled back to the store.

I’m glad I did, they had such a delightful range of really good books in the Literature section. Being the Lit geek that I am, I went crazy and wanted to buy quite a number of books, but in the end whittled it down to 7 books (yep, I had originally wanted to get more than 7 books).

It was real cheap though, I only paid $39 for everything. And that included a really good copy of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time which cost $10, which I bought for Erfendi (along with Roald Dahl’s The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar).

They also had many Roald Dahl books, I picked up The Witches and The Complete Adventures of Charlie and Mr Willie Wonka, complete with illustrations from Quentin Blake, which really make the books come alive and are incomplete without them.

At night we played scrabble. I lost terribly, but it was a good game nonetheless! You can tell that we went a bit overboard with the longish words, which don’t necessarily score very high.

Here come the photos!

Written by Nabilah

December 27, 2009 at 6:11 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. omg! i spot a Qi on your scrabble board!

    Naia

    January 4, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    • I know!!! Hehe, but I think it was disqualified. I always use “Qi” to use my Qs without using a U, but they don’t accept it! 😦

      Nabilah

      January 7, 2010 at 2:58 pm


Leave a Reply

