chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

the girl who would be king

with 13 comments

This post is a tribute-protest to GV’s decision to not bring Where The Wild Things Are to Singapore.

IT IS A TERRIBLE TERRIBLE DECISION.

I’ve wanted to watch it ever since I saw the trailer on Ellen, that was like in January or something. I remember thinking that it looked a bit weird, but soon enough I was so captivated by Spike Jonze’s re-telling of Maurice Sendak’s children’s story that I was really looking forward to it!

Needless to say, I (together with a lot of people in Singapore!) are disappointed.

Below are some cool photos I found of people have been inspired by the sheer imagination of Maurice Sendak/Spike Jonze and bits and bobs of the movie and book.

And here’s my own Where The Wild Things Are tribute!

With my little wooden elephant from Loi!

And little lamby from Uni! (the wildest stuffed toy I had)

Fixing my ribbon which had unraveled midway through the shoot.

And my makeshift crown that looks a bit wonky and kept falling off!

I love this umbrella! I just realised we have it, hehe.

Here’s where I went a bit loopy and turned it into a tea party.

Dress: Vintage dress from the I Love Museums flea market at Timbre

Socks: Happy Socks from Mel!

Crown, elephant, lamb: Mine own

Everything else belongs to my mum, hehe.

Where The Wild Things are photos from weheartit.com and Dazed Digital.

My photos from me! πŸ˜›


Despite my wonky crown I think it worked out well!Β  A great way to spend my Saturday afternoon.

I encourage everyone to indulge in a little photoshoot fun, but best to have a tripod or someone to shoot for you! I went crazy trying to run back and forth, which resulted in photos like this:

Happy weekend!

Written by Nabilah

January 9, 2010 at 6:12 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. love your photoshoot + your room/mirrors! i liked the tea party part! very cute πŸ™‚

    and yay my elephant! ❀

    loii

    January 10, 2010 at 3:32 am

  2. What ?!! They’re not bringing this movie at all:( Sadddd ohhhh so sad! I’m making my chai tea now and yes I’m thinking about you heeeee

    I really love your photoshoot with your dress and those socks. So adorable:)
    Ohhhh we should meet up soon too ❀

    Valencia Lia

    January 10, 2010 at 9:10 am

  3. Oops,I forgot to add. Nooo,my shoes I think were from hottopic.com if I’m not wrong.

    Valencia Lia

    January 10, 2010 at 9:11 am

  4. Thanks you girls!!! I spent more time than I thought on this, and was scared that nobody would like it (although, maybe I shouldn’t be, because I had lots of fun doing it!). Yay…so encouraged! πŸ™‚

    Loi: Yeah! Yet to name him, but I got an elephant necklace so he won’t be lonely! πŸ˜›

    Valencia: Yay…yeah maybe we can have a chai tea latte together! Hehe, hope it tastes good!

    Nabilah

    January 10, 2010 at 9:44 am

  5. aww that’s so cute looking!! and the little tea party going on.. wonderful!!

    Ilse

    January 11, 2010 at 1:22 am

  6. Thank you Ilse for appreciating my tea party and thanks for dropping by my blog!! πŸ™‚

    Nabilah

    January 12, 2010 at 2:18 am

  7. Hi Nabby!! This is so cute! And your mint green dress is so lovely, together with the teacups and colourful blast brolly!! Quiantness to the max!!

    And oh why is the movie not allowed to be screened in SG??

    Joyce

    January 20, 2010 at 10:38 pm

  8. Hi Joyce! Sorry this is a bit late but they decided not to screen it because of some financial reason – something along the lines of they don’t know if it will make money or not. Stupid decision eh? But I managed to watch it last week – It is awesome!!

    Nabilah

    March 2, 2010 at 2:10 am

  9. […] Dinner buffet with the family on Sunday. First time wearing my Where The Wild Things Are dress. […]

  10. Eh I was so upset I had to watch this illegally too! Boo..

    f a i z u L.

    March 2, 2010 at 9:07 am

  11. Hehe, you watch already? I thought it was great! made me cry, hee.

    Nabilah

    March 2, 2010 at 2:00 pm

  12. The last photo’s cute tho, it works after scrolling down through all the different poses of yours… Nabs has gone off to watch the movie!

    greenlaundry

    March 3, 2010 at 1:21 am

  13. Hee! Actually that works! Have you watched the movie yet? Think you’ll like it!

    I haven’t seen you for SO LONG!

    Nabilah

    March 3, 2010 at 1:25 am


Leave a Reply

