chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

things that inspire me

with 8 comments

My Blog It Forward post, finally!

Dear friends, about a month ago I saw that Victoria from sfgirlbybay was doing something called Blog It Forward, got a wee bit curious and decided to go check it out. Turns out that she was organising this great blogger chain letter-like thingy majiggywhich involves about 300 million bloggers*, so I decided it would be fun to join in.

* a gross exaggeration, but you get the picture!

Well, fast forward one month and a gamut of different emotions – From “Oooh I got a great idea for my BIF post” to “Wow, the other bloggers’ BIF posts are so impressive!” to “Ohhh, my ideas suck” to “Oooooh I have a great idea again, I can do this!!” to “Uggh, work sucks, when’s my turn to do the BIF post again?”, suddenly it’s D-Day.

And I’m kind of freaking out (call it blogger envy or something) and hoping that by typing this whole wall of text I’d distract you and make you forget that I actually need to do some special post called Blog It Forward or something?

Gah.

So…Here it is:

THINGS THAT INSPIRE ME:


1. dysfunctional families

Royal Tenenbaums, Arrested Development, C.R.A.Z.Y

2. quirky love

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Amelie, Anchorman

3. books from my childhood

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Beazus and Ramona (series), The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole (series), Nancy Drew (series)

4. socks

Source: weheartit.com

5. the beautiful (and furry) ones

Source: weheartit.com

Hope you enjoyed it! I could have gone on and on, but I’m stopping at 5 for your sanity! 🙂

And with that, I bid you adieu.

(Oh and remember to check out Old Sweet Song for her amazingly awesome post yesterday and check out One Blue Wren who will be posting tomorrow! These are the other lovely people who also posted on March 12 : beauty designed, Coeur de la, every little wonder, jetkat design, max and ellie, red bird style, sparker, the penny has dropped, whitney english.


8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOVE your post. Ditto to quirky love and dysfunctional families!

    Amy@OldSweetSong

    March 13, 2010 at 3:41 am

  2. I love the Ramona books. I just started reading them to my four-year-old. I thought she’d be too young for them, but she totally identifies with “Reemona” and always begs for an extra page or two!

    Melissa

    March 13, 2010 at 4:09 am

  3. What a fun list of inspirations! So many great things that you touched on. I have an unreasonable love for socks especially…

    Thank you for sharing, I’m so glad to have “met” you…

    xo

    Dennice

    March 13, 2010 at 7:46 am

  4. i’m so mad they took arrested development off the air, that show was pure comedy!

    Arcadia

    March 13, 2010 at 10:21 am

  5. @Amy Thanks for your comment! I had another movie in mind for quirky love – The Secretary with Maggie Gylenhaal and James Spader, such a good movie about a couple into S&M – sounds weird but it’s actually a romantic movie! You should check it out if you like quirky couples!

    @Melissa Hee, does she say it as “Reemona”? That’s too cute! Such a good idea – I should read the books to my future child too! (Or maybe my future cat…do you think he/she would appreciate it?)

    @fringe Yay to our mutual love for socks! Unfortunately Singapore is sometimes too hot for socks, though that doesn’t mean I don’t sneak them on once in a while! 🙂

    Arcadia: I know!! Me too..I still remember so many of the quotes, in my mind the Bluth Family lives on! 🙂 Btw, my favourite is George Michael (junior), what about yours?

    Nabilah

    March 13, 2010 at 2:32 pm

  6. Love this! Esp quirky socks! (:

    f a i z u L.

    March 13, 2010 at 9:50 pm

  7. Aha! I definitely can attest to the socks bit and the cats too. I too have a soft spot for dysfunctional families with ridiculously wacko characters and the dad with a moustache is a must.

    greenlaundry

    March 16, 2010 at 2:59 am

  8. Love your post! Eternal Sunshine and Amelie make my heart melt in the best of ways.

    desaline

    March 16, 2010 at 1:42 pm


Leave a Reply

