chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

stop and stare

with 5 comments

Two weeks ago I did something new and exciting!

I let strangers stare at me, pore over every feature and flaw as they tried to capture my likeness on a piece of blank canvas.

I posed for Portrait Day. It was fun!

I settled on the ideal expression to present to the artists, then quietly cursed myself as I struggled to hold a smile I was sure looked as pretty as that of a scary clown, and thought about whether I should have worn something different.

It lasted all of 20 minutes, and at the end the portraits were so pretty that I ended up buying 6!

Shyam does really good watercolour portraits!

The different interpretations of me.

One of my favourites, done by Evan. Highly stylised and quite sexy (haha!) I asked him why he didn’t draw me with eyes but he said he just felt like it. Heheh.

Having a hard time choosing!

Me with Don. He made me look like Veronica from the Archie comics!

Photos by Zinkie

Love this last one. The artist, Drew, has amazing style and his illustrations are the kind that you can really picture in a storybook.

Portrait Day is organised by OIC, it usually happens every first Sunday of the month at the MAAD market. I highly encourage you to check it out! I think if I would like to do it again but with erfen. Think it would be really nice!

Now I have 6 portraits of me and I don’t know what to do with it. I wonder if hanging them up together would make me appear egoistic? Hahah, I don’t know.

Written by Nabilah

March 16, 2010 at 10:07 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. woo! so much fun! and i can understand how it must feel like sitting there, having to hold a smile while having tens of pairs of eyes stare at you and what you’re wearing, nonstop. brave girl, you! and it paid off too šŸ™‚ all that lovely artwork.

    i’d say rotate the images so you won’t get like 6 girls staring back at you from your wall!

    theletterzee

    March 17, 2010 at 3:01 am

  2. Hahaha, issit a bit like a wedding day, with people taking pictures of you (and you can’t even do “quality control” with most of them)? This must be good practice for me then! šŸ˜›

    Nabilah

    March 17, 2010 at 9:30 am

  3. I’m really loving the one done by Evan! I’d definitely frame it up, and if there was a male counterpart, it would look really lovely gracing your home šŸ™‚

    And yes, you’re so brave to get ‘stared down’! šŸ˜›

    zsixshutter

    March 20, 2010 at 9:54 am

  4. AWESOME NAB! this looked like it was a lot of fun!! (O.O)

    Deb

    April 4, 2010 at 11:03 pm

  5. @zsixshutter I know right! I was like “I hope they won’t notice this new zit that I have…” hehe!

    @deb THANKSSS! It was! You should try! šŸ™‚

    Nabilah

    April 5, 2010 at 10:57 am


Leave a Reply

