chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

beauty world (cha cha cha)

with 7 comments

Warning: Trip down memory lane coming ahead. Proceed with caution.

When I was younger, I used to be very unhappy with the way I looked. I had really bad skin and combined with puberty and the angst that comes with being a teenager, I used to think I was the ugliest person in the world. I’d even hate to look in the mirror, and there were times when I would not want to leave the house, preferring to hole up at home rather than go out and be stared at by other people (or so I thought). It was really quite traumatising, and it seemed to me that all my friends had such perfect skin compared to me. Those were dark times!

Well, fast forward about 10 years, and I can safely say that I’m no longer that self-hating person. I don’t have perfect skin still, but I guess as you grow up, not only does your skin naturally improve since you’re no longer a teen with raging hormones, but you start to learn that diet, exercise and good skincare start to play an important part when it comes to having good skin. Also, I do believe that as I grew older, I became more comfortable in my skin (haha, pun fully intended), so I’ve become accustomed to the fact that I don’t have perfect skin and hey! that’s ok! πŸ™‚

So anyway, I got to thinking about this because today I read in an advertisement in the paper about a new moisturiser from Vichy that’s meant for people with oily or blemished skin, and there was a promotion so I bought it!

(Crystal Bowersocks/American Idol on the TV!)

It’s called Anti-Imperfection Hydrating Care, and supposedly capable of reducing imperfections (duh) and controlling sebum in 4 weeks. So anyway, it came with some other products as well. I figure, no harm trying! (Note: This is not an advertorial, I’m just a sucker with these kinda things.)

Anyway, here’s how I look like today:

Oily skin? Check!

Break-outs on the side of my face? Check!

Large pores? Check!

Ding ding ding! We have a winner! πŸ˜› Well, here’s hoping there’s an improvement to my skin after 4 weeks – my birthday comes then so it’s either I look better or I look terrible! No pressure eh?

Anyway, here’s something random, in the photo above you can see my reflection on the left, I find it kinda spooky but cool! Hahaha. Ok random.

Ok I’m excited to use the new moisturiser (is that normal?), so here I shall end. Goodnight folks!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Completely normal! I love new toiletries so much, I sometimes toss out unfinished shampoo just to start on my newly purchased one :\ I find Vichy great so it should work :]

    greenlaundry

    April 15, 2010 at 4:58 am

  2. Hi Nabs, I have been using products from the exact same line for almost a year now and it’s working really well. πŸ™‚ And as for makeup, I highly recommend bare minerals for blemished skin. I don’t think I will ever use other foundations/concealers again! I agree with you about having a good diet, exercise and enough rest for good skin, but it’s more important to love ourselves as we are! xx

    joyinliving

    April 15, 2010 at 2:41 pm

  3. I was so tempted to buy the same line too after hearing about their promotion! But since I was just looking for something to replace my moisturiser, I went for Clinelle’s Moisture Booster (which was also on sale!) instead. You’ve got a birthday to look forward to, I’ve got my wedding;– no pressure indeed! πŸ˜›

    zsixshutter

    April 16, 2010 at 11:55 am

  4. @greenlaundry wow! I am like the opposite of you, I will use the last bit of shampoo until absolutely cannot squeeze out anything then I will throw it away. I am an auntie! πŸ˜›

    @joycie thanks for the suggestions joyce! very helpful cos I was thinking of getting mineral make-up and didn’t know if it’d be good for my skin type! And yes, totally agree on the importance in loving ourselves πŸ™‚

    @zsixshutter you are getting married? So awesome!!! I am pleased to report that my moisturiser is awesome and doing a great job! how’s yours?

    Nabilah

    April 16, 2010 at 4:47 pm

  5. I have a problematic skin too! Tried a lot of products but nothing works! So depressing. 😑 Lol!

    Hope this works for you! (:

    f a i z u L.

    April 17, 2010 at 10:12 pm

  6. YOU look pretty. I’d like to try this stuff for myself. Combination skin here.

    1SweetSiren

    April 22, 2010 at 12:50 am

  7. Thanks my dear. I’m happy to report that the Vichy products have made my skin a lot clearer after just 1 week, and I’ve bought full-size versions of the cleansing gel and refining essence. My skin’s oily so the moisturiser is perfect, but I’ve read that it may be too drying for less oily skin.

    Nabilah

    April 22, 2010 at 11:15 pm


Leave a Reply

