chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

skin deep

leave a comment »

I was reading Elle Magazine a couple of days ago and came across an article of some things we women do which we think are good, but in actual fact are bad for us! Here’s a few that I thought were helpful for me, maybe they’d be for you too:

Bad habit #1: Using the lowest setting on your hairdryer, because it’s gentle on your hair

Any setting that you use on your hairdryer involves heat, and as long as there’s heat involved, your hair needs to be protected. No matter what heat setting you use, remember to use a leave-in conditioner or some sort of conditioning serum before you dry your hair! This is good advice, and like all good advice out there, we tend to get quite lazy and forget to follow them!

Bad habit #2: Using conditioner all over your hair

Conditioner should only be used on the oldest part of your hair which needs the TLC, ie the ends of your hair, not the roots. Well technically you could use it on your roots, but since your roots get plenty of oil from your scalp, this can make your roots greasy. A good rule of thumb is to condition only the hair that falls below your ears.

Bad habit #3: Applying facial wash to your face before working it into a lather on your skin.

The reason why you shouldn’t do this is that it drags your skin and causes unnecessary stress to it. Instead, you should dispense the facial wash on your hand, use your fingers to work it into a lather, and then, apply it to your face.

Well that’s all that I can remember, hehe. Another thing that I think is very important is to wear sunscreen every day, even when we’re staying indoors! I’m using a neutrogena SPF50 one at the moment that I am pretty happy with.

If you have more tips do share! Now that I’m going on 25, I’m suddenly paying attention to all these skin/beauty care tips so I’ll be sharing whatever I learn from time to time. I’m also trying to experiment more with make-up, I just realised that my make-up stash is so miniscule in size compared to other people, no wonder I look so drab compared to other people. Gotta step up my game yo! Hehe.

Ooh, and Elle Magazine is going to have a makeover day on May 8 at Wisma Atria which I feel like checking out! If anyone wants to come too, do let me know! It’ll be great to have company! 🙂

Written by Nabilah

April 29, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Leave a Reply

