chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

Kahwin Cara Melayu/Malay-style Wedding

with 4 comments

A couple of weddings in the family this past weekend. I got a couple of cool photos on my iPhone which I’m proud to share with you! I love the Malay culture (at least the little that I know about it, hehe) and hope you’ll enjoy the photos!

The groom and his entourage arrive

The kompang troupe heralds the arrival with deafening beats (you’d know what I mean if you’ve ever been near a void deck wedding!)

The Mak Andam (or Makeup Artist) covers the bride’s face with a fan. My cousin is laughing because of the hoops we’re making her husband jump through just to get to her!

First barrier: Beware the man with the big stick!

He manages to charm the man with the big stick!

Second barrier: The bride’s sisters hold the fort. The thing they’re using to form the barrier is a bunga mangga, which is kind of like a floral thing made of shiny foil which is usually stuck into a pineapple.

The barrier starts to break!

Finally they get to sit together on the pelamin (or dais)!

Pencak silat time! (Malay martial arts)

Some freaky-looking moves there.

The second silat guy. You can kinda imagine the “hak! hak!” sounds that could accompany this image.

I call this the “oops I forgot to comb my hair” move! 😛

This guy did the fake “gonna shake your hand, just kidding! Ok no now I’m really gonna shake your hand, changed my mind!” a couple of times and fooled the groom. When the actual handshake finally came I think everyone heaved a sigh of relief!

Happy Wedding Day to my cousins! (:

Hope the photos were interesting! This ceremony is called the “bersanding” or enthronement ceremony.

According to Wikipedia:

“The bersanding (enthronement) ceremony begins with the groom’s procession with friends, relatives, musicians and people waving bunga manggar (palm blossom) to meet the bride. Often various good-humoured attempts are made to waylay or stop the groom from getting to the bride. The main part of the bersanding involves the seating of the bridal couple on a dais and sprinkling them with yellow rice and scented water by family members, relatives and guests as a sign of blessing. Each guest will receive a bunga telur (egg flower), a decorated egg with a fabric flower, as a sign of fertility. The couple are considered royalty for the day, and so various royal customs are performed for them, including musicians playing court music and ‘bodyguards’ performing a display of pencak silat (traditional Malay martial arts).”

Happy new week all!


Written by Nabilah

July 5, 2010 at 10:24 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How fun is it to be the man with the big stick! This all feels so royal, it’s like a troop! The bride must have felt so important, man, all this effort to fight the ‘fortress’ and get to her.

    melly

    July 5, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    • I know right! I don’t think I can be the man with the big stick, I’m not garang enough!

      Nabilah

      July 6, 2010 at 6:00 pm

  2. malay weddings are so cool!!! i especially love that there is traditional music and martial arts…

    i hope to be invited to one someday (YOURS) 🙂

    sue

    July 5, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    • SUE! Ok I will invite you, but you’ll have to wait a bit. Hahahaha!

      Nabilah

      July 6, 2010 at 6:00 pm


Leave a Reply

