chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

LISTERINE® Bloggers Dare: Week 1

with 64 comments

Hi all! I’m eating a Nutella sandwich and this should be, by all intents and purposes, a pretty normal day.

But it’s not!!! I’m gonna try something different today.

Phew! I don’t know how many of you will watch the video, but yes, I will be joining 5 other bloggers in the LISTERINE® Bloggers Dare over the course of 6 weeks. (You can see my ugly mug on the website here – my hair looks rubbish!)

As with any challenge of this nature, there is a voting element and of course it’d be great if you guys could vote for me! Also one vote entitles you to a free sample of LISTERINE® Total Care mouthwash! Personally I think it is a rather meaningful exercise because it’s like being given a chance to do something you’ve always wanted to do. I’m sure every one of us can relate to that, especially with our hectic Singaporean lives, eh?

Here’s how you can show your support for me:

1) Comment on my LISTERINE® posts (at least 20 characters)   –  2 points

2) Click on this blogger badge –  1 point

3) Re-post any part of my post (video/photo/part of the post) on your blog  –  5 points

4) RT my tweets about LISTERINE® Bloggers Dare (They’ll be tagged with #ListerineTC)  –  5 points

5) Share any of my Facebook links related to LISTERINE® Bloggers Dare on Facebook   –  5 points

6) Vote for me on the LISTERINE® Bloggers Dare website  –  No points, but they contribute to my final score

7) Read my posts  –  1 point

NOTE: I will continue to remain true to the blog and the chai+biskut spirit even as I participate in this challenge and normal posts will continue as per usual during the 6 weeks! Inevitably I will be talking about LISTERINE® and the Total Care mouthwash once in a while, but I hope that you guys will be able to support me through this very new experience! (:

So as part of the adventure, we were scheduled dentist visits!

I absolutely HATE going to the dentist. In primary school the dentists were so horrible and I even remember one of them actually kind of spit into my mouth while she was giving me a check-up! Well not exactly spit, but as she was talking some of it did land into my mouth. Nasty!

So it was that I headed over to Q&M Dental Group at Novena Square, over 1 hour late as I had theatre practice before and had to rush down. Looking back I realise how dangerous it can be to make your dentist angry! (“When Dentists Attack!!”) Thankfully the dentist, Dr Ng, was very nice and he even reiterated that he never wants to make his patients feel pain! It was rather comforting.

All I need in this life of sin 😛

During the check-up, he performed this Gingivitis Test where he basically poked my gums with a metal needle thingy and the more places it bleeds, the higher your gingivitis index! It was kinda horrifying (and I won’t lie, rather painful) to see my gums bleeding and it turns out my gingivitis index is 75%! (In this case a high number is not good!)

Not photo of actual needle

I have to admit that I always thought I had healthy teeth because they are rather straight but little did I know the effects of my meagre oral care! Usually I just brush my teeth twice a day and….er, that’s it. But I was quickly informed by Dr Ng that I would have to brush AND floss AND use mouthwash in order to have good oral health. Hard work but I definitely think it’s one of those “don’t do it and you’ll regret” kinda things, no?

I’ve started using LISTERINE® Total Care mouthwash everyday now, and like any new component in your life, you slowly get used to doing the extra step and I swear it makes my mouth feel cleaner at the end! (pinky swear, no BS!) I have to confess though that I’ve been a bit lazy at the flossing! Dr Ng I hope you’re not reading this!

So that’s my piece of exciting news! Do support me if you can – Visit the LISTERINE® Bloggers Dare website and vote nabbycat! (:

Just curious though, if you were dared to take the first step towards a dream of yours, what would that dream be?

Written by Nabilah

September 17, 2010 at 9:30 pm

64 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. heys! hehe all the best to you too 🙂 and omg i want nutella!!!!

    jojo;

    September 18, 2010 at 12:02 am

    • hee! I know right! Super damn addictive and probably not the best food to talk about in the same post as one focused on good oral health! haha!

      Nabilah

      September 18, 2010 at 12:04 am

  2. 🙂 all the best to you too! Here’s the start for the long marathon! lolx 😉

    Mohd Hisham

    September 18, 2010 at 12:05 am

    • Marathon is right! Hahaha! and isn’t it weird to say your own face on a website? 😛

      Nabilah

      September 18, 2010 at 12:08 am

  3. Hey hey babe! Gosh I finally found ur page, I kept getting the 404 error page when I click from the microsite! And kudos to the hardwork you put in, in your video! That’s a lot of writing! O.o

    All the best to you too sweetie! ❤

    Siddy Lim

    September 18, 2010 at 12:06 am

    • Hahaha thanks! I know, I’m so blur and gave Niki the wrong link! Eek! Thanks, and I can say the same to you, Dr McFrazzle (?) heheh!

      Nabilah

      September 18, 2010 at 12:09 am

      • Haha! That was really tough to go into character I tell you! I had a hard time, and it was 4am in the morning! LOL But I was high on sugar =x

        Siddy Lim

        September 18, 2010 at 1:23 am

    • Oops can’t reply to your 2nd comment! But yes! I find that all these creative things tend to come out late at night, fueled by sugar or some form of junk food! Kk I have to sleep now! Bye siddy!

      Nabilah

      September 18, 2010 at 2:27 am

  4. Hi Nabilah,

    Very cool video. LOVE IT 😀

    Ouch! I didn’t know the Gingivitis Test involves poking needles into your gums. *shudder*

    Anyway, good luck with the Dare!

    Oh! As for the 1st step towards a dream – I would take up a pattern drafting and sewing course with Textile & Fashion Federation, Singapore! Not that I’m dying to be a Project Runway designer, but I’d love to be able to construct a wearable garment on my own! 😀

    Yvette

    September 18, 2010 at 1:07 am

    • Hi Yvette! Thank you for liking my video! I was a bit disappointed with it because I had some problems with the editing and so the quality is not as good as I wanted it to be, but I’m glad you like it! 🙂

      And that’s a great 1st step – I hope you get to do it! I just visited your blog and your crafts look great!

      Thanks for stopping by, now I’ve discovered a great new blog to visit! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 18, 2010 at 1:12 am

    • that’s lovely! i was looking around for a course like that too!

      sherms

      September 18, 2010 at 1:17 am

    • Amazing that you know the name of that tape! Wow! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 19, 2010 at 3:31 am

  5. THE NEEDLE SCARED ME! hahaha, but it was a good scare. Now i’m seriously thinking I’d better floss and gargle.

    btw, i especially like the “vote nabbycat” flag! did you draw it?

    sherms

    September 18, 2010 at 1:19 am

    • Ok the actual needle is not as scary as that. But maybe it’s good that you got scared, hehe.

      I didn’t draw it, I made it! With japanese tape. I’m actually quite proud of it so I’m happy you pointed it out! (also not shy, hehe!)

      Sherms, go to sleep!

      Nabilah

      September 18, 2010 at 1:24 am

      • It’s the MT Masking Tape’s Washi decor tape!! 😀 Okay. Now I feel like a stationery geek for recognizing that. hahaha Love the Flag too!

        Yvette

        September 18, 2010 at 1:40 am

  6. […] leave a comment » Hi all, you can read the post “Listerine Bloggers Dare: Week 1″ here. […]

  7. Hey, thanks for leaving me a message! I visited your site a couple of times and really liked the pic you put up with the book covers.

    I liked your dream vid too! Very cool.

    Good luck, and looking forward to reading the rest of your posts!!

    Evelyn

    September 18, 2010 at 9:28 am

    • Thanks Evelyn! Looking forward to yours as well! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 19, 2010 at 3:30 am

  8. good job frujchaholic! lets hope this dare doesn’t takeaway your foodie spirit!

    Cool video too! All the best nabby! =P

    Vik

    September 18, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    • thanks vik! haha I’ll always be a foodie, you can bet on that! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 19, 2010 at 3:18 am

  9. nice vid Nab! I’m a sucker for that kind of videos actually. 😀

    Izad

    September 19, 2010 at 11:07 am

    • heheh thanks Izad! If you like the video, you can share it on Facebook! 😛 But thanks for visiting! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 19, 2010 at 10:07 pm

  10. i can relate, i’ve had bad experiences in the dentist’s chair too! when i was a young toucan, dental check ups weren’t conducted by qualified dental practitioners but by nurses, and they were quite rough in their approach! luckily all that has changed, or so i think?

    :>>>

    toucansam

    September 19, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    • I did not know that toucans went for dentist visits too! I guess oral hygiene is important even for birds! Thanks for the great comment as always, toucansam!

      Nabilah

      September 19, 2010 at 10:08 pm

  11. voted for you!

    i usually go to this dentist in AMK that’s always filled at any moment of any day, the reason is that he charges about half of what his peers do.

    I think your post just reminded me to visit my dentist. Hmm.

    good luck with the contest nabs!

    Stephie

    September 19, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    • ooh your dentist is super popular! Yes yes, do visit your dentist. I have a cavity the size of Singapore in my mouth and I need to get it filled soon too!

      Thanks for voting babe! Vote for me whenever you’re free, you can vote once a day! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm

  12. OMG! You did that video! ITS SO FREAKING COOL and CUTE!ahahaha! I hope you win this and achieve your dreams:)

    Keep dreaming,
    Izzaty:)

    Izzaty

    September 20, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    • Thanks babe for visiting my blog and for your support!! Hehe, yes I did, glad you like it! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 20, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    • Oh yah and add me on FB! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 20, 2010 at 3:32 pm

  13. i always thought & (still do, i think) have healthy teeth but your post is making me think twice. plus, it’s been A LONG TIME since I went to the dentist so i really ought to make a trip down soon. lol.

    anyway, good luck with this blogging contest, babe! 🙂

    blisschic

    September 20, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    • hahah I know right? You totally get complacent about your teeth especially when they look ok from the outside! Sometimes I feel bad for dentists cos so many ppl hate to visit them!

      And thanks babe! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 20, 2010 at 11:53 pm

  14. I adore the video Nab 🙂 So creative and clever. I’ll bet you will be a fine designer one day! Hope you win this contest 😀 You have my undying support!!

    Nurazila

    September 20, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    • Zila! Thanks for commenting! And glad u like the video! I’m not planning to be designer, just want to better my skills so that I can do other creative things that are usually just kept in my head! hehe!

      Love you muchly! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 20, 2010 at 11:54 pm

  15. It has began! All the best, I hope you win x100. Incredibly cute that your dentist agreed to take a photo with you!

    melly

    September 20, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    • Melly! Indeed it has! hehehe I think he had to take photos with everyone, in fact he was the one who asked if I brought my camera cos I was too nervous to ask him to take a photo with me! hehe!

      Nabilah

      September 20, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  16. To travel alone!! That’d be one true dare for me but it’s a dream alright!!

    Nabila Bila

    September 20, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    • Babe! Thanks for visiting! And yes you should do that! I traveled alone before and it’s a bit nerve-wracking but you slowly learn how to be comfortable just hanging out with yourself. A totally awesome experience I would recommend to anyone! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 20, 2010 at 11:56 pm

  17. I love the video ! Awesome……. Now i’m getting paranoid over my teeth. I want white pearlie healthy teeth please ! Well, the dentist said that my gums is receeding. Arrghh… If you get free listerine mouthwash, pass 1 to me. heheee….

    Wani

    September 21, 2010 at 12:43 am

    • Wani, are you Wanie? 🙂 Oh no receding gums! How do you prevent it from receding? Now I’m thinking of my gums too. Hey but you should try this Listerine Total Care mouthwash, I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks and it rocks!

      Nabilah

      September 21, 2010 at 5:07 pm

  18. LOVE the video nabs 🙂 reading your blog has become as much a part of my day as good oral hygiene haha i vote nabby cat xx

    Christine

    September 21, 2010 at 10:13 am

    • Thanks Christine! And your comment is omg cute. hahah! Glad to be of some service to your every day!

      Nabilah

      September 21, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  19. Hey there, so cool that you’re doing this! I’ve been putting off my visit to the dentist too. He always says I have weak gum that bleed easily…

    Cookie Cutter

    September 21, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    • Thanks Sandy! Yes we always seem to be scared or lazy to visit the dentist no? I chalk it down to scary dentists during primary school!

      Nabilah

      September 21, 2010 at 5:42 pm

  20. The video is very cute actually and creative. I liked it 🙂

    rinaz

    September 21, 2010 at 3:52 pm

  21. Maybe I’m freaky but I like going to the dentist and I like to floss! Mouthwash…I don’t use it that often cos they always feel so stingy! Does the one you’re using feel like it’s stinging your mouth?

    Some of my dreams > Travel alone/ Study you-know-what!

    youknee

    September 21, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  22. Cute video! =) I wish you all the best and hope you will win!!
    Well, I’ve been using Listerine mouthwash for a couple of years now (the original one, which does not taste great but does its job).
    I have not tried the Total Care version. So the next time out, I will buy a bottle!! =)

    Sharyn

    September 22, 2010 at 10:27 am

  23. Sharyn jie jie! 🙂 thank you!

    And yes, sherms told me that you use it! I think you will like Total Care, I kinda like the taste! And you should get sherms to use it too, i think she doesn’t like it!

    Nabilah

    September 22, 2010 at 11:05 am

  24. […] click here to read my Week 1 post and watch my video! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Orange & […]

    a quiet charm « chai&biskut

    September 22, 2010 at 11:28 am

  25. Hie!!!!

    First of all…what’s up with all the cats man?!?!!??!!!

    Second…i think what you’re doin is pretty kewl! pretty inspired to visit the dentist myself…haa..

    ViT

    September 22, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    • Vit! hahaha would expect that anti-cat comment coming from you! Thanks for visiting and commenting!

      And yes, go to the dentist! 🙂

      Nabilah

      September 22, 2010 at 6:12 pm

  26. i like nutella and i eat it from the jar. after which i might forget to brush my teet. u think my gingie test score is high too?

    and i love ur video.

    good luck babey!

    i will support you!

    arizzztee

    September 22, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    • rstt! Thank you for commenting love! 🙂 I dunno abt your gingie test, but you can get a cavity quite easily cos these sweet things can wreak havoc on our teeth!

      Take care of your teeth, yours are nice and white and straight!

      Love you!

      Nabilah

      September 22, 2010 at 11:40 pm

  27. Cools to the max!I’m with ya all thee way! (:

    fuzzygreenlights

    September 23, 2010 at 12:01 am

  28. […] my “nabbycat dares you” video I said that my personal challenge was to learn how to design. To be more specific, I would like to […]

    • … let me guess.

      u want to design quirkie tops and hats.

      arizzztee

      September 27, 2010 at 12:16 pm

      • hahah nolah, well actually maybe!

        Just wanna learn a new skill that I can use! 🙂

        Nabilah

        October 1, 2010 at 8:28 pm

  29. […] wall, during the Week 1 video […]

    bitsabobs « chai&biskut

    September 29, 2010 at 11:02 am

  30. dot dot dot

    arizzztee

    October 1, 2010 at 11:17 am

  31. […] continue to vote for me here! Click here for my Week 1, 2, 3 and 4 […]

  32. […] Week 1: nabbycat dares you […]


Leave a Reply

