chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

Retro, or what?

with 12 comments

Was cleaning my room and going through all the stuff I’ve accumulated for the past 25 years – hari raya cards from primary school, letters from secondary school mates written on free ZO cards and filter paper stolen from the Science lab, birthday cards in all manner of designs, old photos with waterstains, faded movie ticket stubs, the countless neoprints (ranging from the small stamp-sized ones to the larger card-sized ones which cost $6 each!), museum entry tickets from Europe, postcards I bought (some for myself, some meant for others that I never sent out), letters and photos that got me through the bitter winter cold when I felt most lonely, bus tickets which were once folded into hearts – they all tugged not just at my heartstrings but at my memories, taking me back to days long gone, days that have come to shape the person I have become – good and bad.

And now, instead of being emo (God knows it can be a heartwrenchingly depressing to indulge such thoughts), I’ve decided to share the many IC/passport photos I’ve accumulated in my life so far!

Clockwise, from the green uniform: TKGS centre-parting hair days (15 yrs) ; VJC crooked-tie days (18 yrs) ; my passport photo (16 years) ;  first “corporate” photo (19 years);  permed hair days (23 yrs); straight hair days (21 yrs); current “i wish i had cut my hair before taking this” photo.

Unglam I know, but it feels kinda nice to see how you’ve evolved. Not just the haircuts, or the state of your skin, but really to think about how you’ve evolved as a person. I’d like to think that I’ve gotten more sure of myself, more comfortable in my own skin…funny but in some ways this blog has helped me evolve as well. Finding people who like your style, or like the photos you take, or just think that you are an okay person, that definitely makes you feel better about yourself, in big or small ways.

So thank you, dear reader. And happy new year. Here’s to a smashing 2011.

 

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/1368650/nabbycat?claim=yvds4kvcjuc”>Follow my blog with bloglovin</a>

 

Written by Nabilah

January 2, 2011 at 10:37 pm

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Nabs!! Happy 2011 to you too! 🙂 You have the guts to post your 15 yr old pic up! Hahaha… totally agree that it’s all about being comfortable in your own skin. Great advice… on just being present in the moement & loving yourself! xx

    Joycie K

    January 2, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    • Yes! Well it’s not always easy but I always try to remind myself! Happy new year joycie!

      Nabilah

      January 10, 2011 at 12:05 am

  2. Agreed!

    sherms

    January 3, 2011 at 12:38 am

  3. happy new year nabs! your IC photos are so cute (:

    Stephie

    January 3, 2011 at 7:57 am

  4. “…funny but in some ways this blog has helped me evolve as well. Finding people who like your style, or like the photos you take, or just think that you are an okay person, that definitely makes you feel better about yourself, in big or small ways.”

    Aye to that! You’re wonderful, Miss Nabbycat. Can’t wait to see you and Sue tonight for sooshi!

    Z

    zee

    January 3, 2011 at 9:32 am

  5. Good stuff sweets! 🙂

    Liyana

    January 3, 2011 at 12:34 pm

  6. Oh my goodness! You have not aged at all! 🙂 Aprt from the hairstyles, you still kinda look the same! Amazing.

    far-the-one-who-lives-near-you

    January 12, 2011 at 9:12 am

    • hehehe, i take that as a compliment! Although, I hope I look less nerdy heheh!

      Nabilah

      January 13, 2011 at 10:25 pm


Leave a Reply

