chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

hotel motel tanjong pagar

with 17 comments


I don’t know if I’m alone in this, but I never knew that there was a hotel in Tanjong Pagar Railway Station, or KTM as it is more popular known.

Most people would be familiar with this part of the station, or the food stalls at the back (which incidentally, sells the most awesome goreng pisang…mmm goreng pisang…). But ever notice the 2nd and 3rd floors?

I had the privilege of exploring the old hotel on the 2nd floor. Two things come to mind when you step into the hotel vicinity.

Thought #1: Whoa… this is kinda cool!

Thought #2: Er… it’s also a bit creepy.

It basically feels as if one day they decided not to use the hotel anymore, just like that. Although I am very sure that this is not the case.

Apparently someone did take their own life in one of the rooms though…. :/

On to nicer things! This where the trains come in and leave, and where you can sit and enjoy a nice cup of teh.

VIP rooms are larger and sport this kind of semicircle window and doorway.

One of the KTM Station Masters.

All in all, the experience was really interesting, a bit like seeing Miss Havisham, still in her wedding dress, now old and tattered, clocks stopped at a particular moment in time. But I think that’s the beauty of KTM, no? It just feels like stepping into a time warp, where everyone just takes their time.

Some other photos of good ol’ KTM:

Hope you enjoyed the virtual tour! Sorry for the blurry photos, these were taken with my iPhone 3GS because silly me did not bring a camera. Have a kickass week all!

Written by Nabilah

February 7, 2011 at 11:27 pm

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Always my favourite to bring the camera for an outing to the railway station!

    Shinn

    February 7, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    • Yes! I can’t get enough of it! Gonna go again with my film camera next time! (:

      Nabilah

      February 7, 2011 at 11:40 pm

  2. ooohboy, I actually got the creeps and some of my hairs went “senang diri”. cool tho, I mean, creepy but cool.

    melly

    February 7, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    • I hoped that the photo of the old uncle would neutralise that feeling, but yes, I realise how haunting the photos can be!

      Nabilah

      February 7, 2011 at 11:40 pm

  3. Your photos kinda look like they were taken with a film camera! ūüôā

    fuzzygreenlights

    February 8, 2011 at 1:42 am

  4. i made a trip to the railway station too, just because i wanted to take pictures of it before it’s gone. u did a great job documenting this part of history! how cool is it that you got to go upstairs?!

    hearttypat

    February 8, 2011 at 4:01 am

    • thanks pat!! I know, it was so cool! Definitely a once in a lifetime thing I think!

      Nabilah

      February 8, 2011 at 4:42 pm

  5. Cool! Never knew about the motel! Glad to see it through your photos before it all disappears. Your lobang pretty gd to have managed to gain entry.

    Cookie Cutter

    February 8, 2011 at 11:10 am

    • Hahahah my lobang! It was actually for work! Joined in on this heritage walk that my company co-organised, now I think I will try to join in for all – if that’s even possible!

      Nabilah

      February 8, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  6. This is amazing, Nab! Like you, I had no idea this motel existed! It’s so eerie but there is so much beauty in abandoned places and I loved your photos!

    ilyana

    February 9, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    • That’s true about abandoned places, that “untouched” feeling is just so rare here in Singapore. Thanks love!

      Nabilah

      February 9, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  7. Lovely pictures!! I heard scandals happened up tere but don’t know how true the stories were. At one point, the husband and I wanted to do rent and do art show but it didn’t materialized.

    The old man in yr photo owns the coffeeshops. I wonder where he’s gonna go wen the KTM closes down…

    I’m feeling sad oredi…

    M

    February 13, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    • Oh man! An art show there would be so awesome!! What kind of art do you do?

      I see you’re a regular at KTM, I too am wondering where will all the stall owners move to as well, especially the goreng pisang seller, the goreng pisang is soo good!!

      Thanks for dropping by my blog!

      Nabilah

      February 13, 2011 at 11:23 pm

  8. […] ¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† Do you spot it? The word “Hotel” that is scratched out from the signboard?¬†There used to be a station hotel that was located on the 2nd floor of the train station, which is, unfortunately, currently out-of-bounds to all visitors. Darn. I was really hoping for the chance to explore the ruins and remains of what used to be a glamorous station hotel reserved only for the wealthy and VIP.¬†Back in its heydays, the 34 rooms station hotel was so luxurious that many had even compared it to the world renown Raffles Hotel! Shall imagine how it feels like living within a train station through¬†Nabilah’s¬†adventures of the 2nd floor¬† here! […]

  9. […] Do you spot it? The word ‚ÄúHotel‚ÄĚ that is scratched out from the signboard?¬†There used to be a station hotel that was located on the 2nd floor of the train station, which is, unfortunately, currently out-of-bounds to all visitors. Darn. I was really hoping for the chance to explore the ruins and remains of what used to be a glamorous station hotel reserved only for the wealthy and VIP.¬†Back in its heydays, the 34 rooms station hotel was so luxurious that many had even compared it to the world renown Raffles Hotel! Shall imagine how it feels like living within a train station through¬†Nabilah‚Äôs¬†adventures of the 2nd floor¬† here! […]

  10. Im a student doing a design research report on the railways station. The photos gives me a view to the 2nd and 3rd floor!!! May I check if you still have the photo with u, i mean more photo?I only have access to 1st floor ūüė¶ really appreciate if you can share the photos with me. may i?

    Thanks! Hope you can help~:)

    Jo

    August 27, 2012 at 10:34 pm


Leave a Reply

