chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

Eye of the The Tiger (SYTYCB Part 1)

with 18 comments

(I will explain the really horribly posed photo in a moment.)

Hello biskuts!

If you’re like me, you would have seen the numerous multi-coloured banners hanging outside your neighbourhood CC, proudly proclaiming “Baking 101” courses, “English for Grandparents” lessons or maybe even “3D2N Trip to Langkawi”. Some may be interesting, others may be a bit funny, but I’m sure there must have been one or two that actually piqued your interest. You may have thought to yourself, “hey that sounds fun!” but never did manage to go back to the CC to check the courses out.

Recently I was invited to go for a couple of the courses offered by the different CCs around Singapore as part in this thing called the So You Think You Can Blog challenge, organised by the People’s Association. My initial reaction was that of apprehension, especially because there’s soooo many things going on in July for me (my grad show theatre performance is in end July and my floorball league is starting in July too!). But then I found out that I’d be able to check out some of the activities offered at the community clubs and I got a bit interested.

I went for my first class yesterday, a Boxer-cise class at Sengkang CC.

The good people of Sengkang CC. Sengkang REPRESENT!

Class in session

Lasting for an hour, the class consisted of learning basic boxing techniques such as jabs, uppercuts, kicks and punches, incorporated with aerobics movements, followed by floor work such as crunches and push-ups. It definitely requires good coordination, which I quickly learnt when I unsuccessfully tried to pose for photos while doing the moves at the same time (I failed, obviously!).

And to prove that I actually did participate in the class and did not just take photos:

Gif of my unglam photos! (If it doesn’t play, click on it to see its full awesomeness) 🙂

Besides being able to kick up a good sweat, Boxer-cise also helps to tone and sculpt your abs and upper body (hands up who needs this, I abso-defin-lutely do!) And if you’re worried about cost, it’s pretty affordable at $65 for 10 lessons.

Evidence that it’s not only for girls!

Uh…trying a pseudo-artistic shot there hehe.

The instructor, Rachel, was super awesome and gamely went along with the “punch to the camera” pose that I suggested. Obviously I am trying very hard, while she probably can easily kick someone’s ass and does not need to resort to silly posing. Oh well!

To find out what other courses are available, do check out PA’s new portal, Ourcommunity.sg and look for those you might be interested in! For example, I tried looking for courses under “Beauty & Wellness” and found a course called Express Make-Up for a Flawless Look – which sounds cool because I am such a NOOB at make-up!

There are even Ukelele classes under “Music, Drama and Vocal”, Sign Language under “Language” and Hip-Hop for Adults under “Dance”! And all those are conveniently held at my nearest CC, so you can search for activities near your home (if you’re lazy like me, this is perfect).

This entry is made as part of the So You Think You Can Blog challenge organised by the People’s Association. 6 bloggers, including me, are in this challenge and stand to win an Apple iPad for blogging about our adventures at courses and events organised by PA. I would be SUPER GRATEFUL if you could support me by leaving a comment, which earns me one point per person.

To make things easier for you, perhaps you could help me by letting me know in your comments what kind of courses you are interested in! Is it art and crafts? Cooking? Salsa dancing? Salsa eating? Looking forward to your comments! (-:

Written by Nabilah

July 7, 2011 at 2:05 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wah, super fun! CC should organize zumba lessons too 🙂

    Ana

    July 7, 2011 at 7:35 am

    • Ana what’s zumba? It’s some kind of exercise right? But sounds exotic hehe!

      Nabilah

      July 7, 2011 at 11:48 pm

  2. Whenever I’m thinking of taking up courses, actually the first place I’d think of is the CC. But unfortunately my busy schedule always don’t match with theirs 😦

    I’ve always been interested in some short getaways or trips they have to nearby countries! Been wanting to take up language lessons from CC, sign language and baking and culinary! I’m sure they have more, I shall go check them out 😉

    So how? Do you feel much fitter after your lesson? haha glad you had this chance.

    Shinn

    July 7, 2011 at 9:47 am

    • That’s awesome that you think of the CC first! Probably because they are everywhere and you always see the banners outside! And the price too eh?

      Hahah…not much fitter but I’m sure after 10 lessons, it’d be different! I like the punching and kicking though, maybe I’m just violent!

      Thanks for the comment dear! I am super interested in language lessons too!

      Nabilah

      July 7, 2011 at 11:50 pm

  3. Are these activities open to toucans, perchance? :>>>

    toucansam

    July 7, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • I’m sure toucans can also learn new languages and even boxercise with your little wings!

      Nabilah

      July 7, 2011 at 11:51 pm

  4. The class looks so fun! And you’re looking good and fit already babe, where got need toning?! LOL.

    I’d love for there to be pilates and yoga classes, at after-work timings and in the more central CC locations 😀

    theletterzee

    July 7, 2011 at 10:41 am

    • Need need! You don’t know how many photos I had to omit cos of the unflattering angle hehe!

      There’s Tanjong Pagar CC too you know! Near your office!

      Nabilah

      July 7, 2011 at 11:52 pm

  5. You had me at “Baking 101”! I kinda want to take proper baking classes, and these sound like they’d be a lot cheaper than the $50893475934857839457345 ones offered at Holland V!! 😀 I will go stalk my neighbourhood CC now! Good luck Nab! 🙂

    Vaidehi

    July 7, 2011 at 10:49 am

    • me too vaid! baking is so super awesome and I havent had the chance to since my oven broke down *sadface*

      thanks sunshine! 🙂

      Nabilah

      July 7, 2011 at 11:55 pm

  6. cool stuff there! esp the gif. hahahah. i think courses need to be more well publicized though.

    vincent.

    July 8, 2011 at 12:15 am

    • I do agree! But that’s why they recently launched OurCommunity.sg, it’s a one-stop portal for you to check out what’s happening at all the CCs…and there are really so many courses!

      Thanks for the comment vincey!

      Nabbycat

      July 9, 2011 at 7:33 pm

  7. Got to love an awesome gif! hehehe! Ok now I need to get me going to some classes!!

    Liyana

    July 8, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    • Thanks for the comment liy!

      Yes you should! The best part is that they are really affordable!

      Nabbycat

      July 9, 2011 at 7:36 pm

  8. That pose is FIERCE. Very inspired to go kick some ass now.

    sherms

    July 12, 2011 at 1:17 am

    • thanks shermsies! 🙂 you go kick that ass, hope it’s not mine tho! :O

      Nabilah

      July 15, 2011 at 10:12 pm

  9. […] Nabs who’s also in the SYTYCB challenge, went for Boxercise & a Make-up course. She has a particularly kick-ass photo for Boxercise. Go see […]

  10. […] just came back from my 3rd course organised by PA. After going for an exercise class and a make-up class, this time, I opted to go for a cooking demo class! This time, it was Gourmet […]


Leave a Reply

