chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

Make up, not war (SYTYCB Part 2)

with 18 comments

Hi all! I went for my 2nd course yesterday – this time it was on Personal Make-Up and Skincare! Feeling a bit tired today so will do a mainly photo-post instead!

Kallang CC is a bit of a misnomer, because it is actually located on Boon Keng Road. Nonetheless, it is conveniently located near Boon Keng MRT on the NEL.

The CC is built in an open-concept way, hence you see residents walking through to get to their homes on the other side and there’s even a cafe on the 1st floor. I love that it has a lot of open space.

A feet shot, just because.

Elderly residents catching up on a Channel 8 programme.

A playground located just outside the CC.

The instructor of the course, Ms Cincelia Tan, starting off the lesson with a quick introduction on the different kinds of foundation.

Creamy foundation in two shades, the darker one is for shading while the lighter once is for concealing. Tricky stuff for me, the make-up n00b!

The course comes with fairly detailed notes. What kind of face shape do you have?

My very comical drawings illustrated how you should apply foundation (upwards for the cheeks, circular motions around the eyes and mouth, downwards for the nose bridge!)

Ms Tan and her technicolour make-up palette. Such pretty colours…

Teaching us how to shape our brows. What’s your brow shape? I hope not the last one! ๐Ÿ˜›

As you can see, the course is very hands-on and is really good for you to learn the basic techniques of doing your own make-up.

Each participant had to bring their own make-up products and a mirror so that they could practise the techniques right away, such as how to highlight certain features of your face and how to do shading.

ย Overall, I found the workshop to be very engaging and enjoyable. The sad thing was that I could only attend 1 session as it is actually a 4-week course with each session lasting 2 hours, or longer. The instructor, Ms Tan was very personable and knowledgeable, having done trainings for companies such as Mary Chia, L’Orรฉal, Shu Eumura and Lancรดme!

To find out more about this course or other courses available at the CCs, do check out PAโ€™s new portal, Ourcommunity.sg.

This entry is made as part of the So You Think You Can Blog challenge organised by the Peopleโ€™s Association. 6 bloggers, including me, are in this challenge and stand to win an Apple iPad for blogging about our adventures at courses and events organised by PA. I would be SUPER GRATEFUL if you could support me by leaving a comment, which earns me one point per person.

Written by Nabilah

July 9, 2011 at 5:00 pm

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like a lot of fun!
    But 4 weeks course?! So long!!

    boo

    July 9, 2011 at 6:22 pm

  2. Oops I meant 4 courses spanning over 4 weeks! Hee!

    Thanks for commenting boo!

    Nabbycat

    July 9, 2011 at 7:29 pm

  3. interesting! i think its time for me to check out my nearest CC for any interesting courses ๐Ÿ™‚

    carrots

    July 9, 2011 at 9:08 pm

  4. and good luck to your competition!

    carrots

    July 9, 2011 at 9:09 pm

  5. Interesting! I’ve known line dancing being taught at CCs but not makeup classes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    roshknee

    July 11, 2011 at 8:34 am

    • rosh, they have SOO many other classes! some are really cool too like mahjong classes which sherms went for! (check out her blog: inthespace.wordpress.com) there’s even like trips overseas to plant rice which is like how cool?!

      Hehe, thanks for the comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nabilah

      July 13, 2011 at 12:28 am

  6. Is it for girls only? ๐Ÿ˜€

    toucansam

    July 11, 2011 at 8:48 am

    • hi toucansam! Not at all, I’m sure guys are welcomed to join as well! The you can help your toucan girlfriend with her make-up! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nabilah

      July 13, 2011 at 12:30 am

  7. Kallang CC looks super nice! And I’m terrible at makeup. You’ve got to impart your skills, nabsy!

    sherms

    July 12, 2011 at 1:16 am

    • hehe sherms! Thanks for commenting and for linking my post on yours! My skills are so n00b-like too! We should do makeovers! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nabilah

      July 13, 2011 at 12:31 am

  8. […] Nabs who’s also in the SYTYCB challenge, went for Boxercise & a Make-up course. She has a particularly kick-ass photo for Boxercise. Go see […]

  9. […] just came back from my 3rd course organised by PA. After going for an exercise class and a make-up class, this time, I opted to go for a cooking demo class! This time, it was Gourmet Cooking with Chef […]

  10. looks like fun and the eyebrow drawings made me LOL-ed! the third one especially.hehehe.good luck with the competition! ๐Ÿ˜€

    mynakedlunch

    July 13, 2011 at 9:53 am

    • hahaha yeah those drawings are really funny! thanks darling! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nabilah

      July 15, 2011 at 10:13 pm

  11. Nice! I always wondered if those makeup classes at CC’s had any ‘credibility’ – turns out it’s quite hands on and fun ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    zee

    July 13, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    • yeah I was surprised at how hands-on it is! I can see that the CCs are really stepping up their game…probably to attract youths like us! (yes, we’re still youths hehe) ๐Ÿ˜›

      Nabilah

      July 15, 2011 at 10:13 pm

  12. I have attended Cincelia’s classes too. and she is known to be selling her makeup products during the class. and so i thought of contacting her to buy some of the items. who knows…. she made an appointment to meet me, but forgot to bring the items. what a wasted trip for me…. should have told me earlier if she was busy right… anyway, bad experience for me.

    Makeup class was ok. but selling of items – NO. And i wonder if the CC allows her to sell these items during the classes? Dubious, coming to think of it….

    cheesecake

    October 8, 2013 at 10:04 pm


Leave a Reply

