chai&biskut

hello you! welcome to my wee blog!

FSAMO

with 4 comments

source

Hi lovely biscuits! Yesterday I got a bit of disappointing news. Some of you might know (if you follow me on Twitter, if not add me at @nabbycat) that I was involved in Short + Sweet Singapore which is a festival which presents 10-minute plays. I registered to be a director, picked my script, conducted auditions for actors, picked the cast for my piece, had rehearsals, was planning my lighting and set design and so forth, and all these within the span of a couple of weeks. Though there was really a time crunch and it was quite stressful, I was actually really looking forward to seeing the result of my rehearsals with my cast. The performance was scheduled for next week, that is, until the organisers decided to cancel the entire show. And this, one week before opening night.

Well, let’s just say I was shell-shocked. Especially when you are told that the reason behind the sudden cancellation is “due to unforeseen circumstances”. Shock soon turned into anger, then disappointment and now, resignation. The good news is that there is a chance that all the work my actors and I put in might not be in vain, there might be an alternative platform to showcase our work sometime next year, so all is not lost. Also I have decided to think positive and take stock of all the things I learnt from the experience – being in charge of how rehearsals go, sharing my vision with my actors and having them trust me, these were things completely new to me and quite amazing experiences in and of themselves.

Sorry for that long story but thought I’d document my thoughts during this whole period. Anyway, I decided to turn to my blog to cheer myself up since I haven’t really done that in a while. It’s kind of like blog therapy in a way. Looking for nice images and reading blogs can be a really good source of comfort – it’s like you can curate your own source of happiness. Here are some visuals that caught my fancy, enjoy! It’s really a hodgepodge of images but I guess that’s probably just my state of mind tonight.

source

source

source

source

source

source

source

source

source

Thanks for listening (reading) guys!

Written by Nabilah

November 25, 2011 at 12:04 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh what a bummer. I can imagine your frustration & how you must feel disappointed for the others involved in your project too. All that work & time you must have spent on it. Take heart that it may not be all over. Fingers crossed for next year. Patience is also a part of creativity I guess. You might be posting pictures of the play here sooner than you think ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jeanne

    peekaaboo

    November 25, 2011 at 12:33 am

    • Hi Jeanne, interesting that you said “patience is also part of creativity”, I like that! I shall take heed. ๐Ÿ™‚

      nabbycat

      November 25, 2011 at 5:06 pm

  2. Grrr, I would totally be hurling things at people! But since that wave of anger has passed, it’s great to hear that you’re taking it in your stride ๐Ÿ™‚ attagirl!

    P.S. so proud to hear what you’ve been up to! it all sounds incredibly cool.
    P.P.S. yeah my hair grew quite fast in two months! but I cut it off last week, heh.

    greenlaundry

    November 25, 2011 at 2:52 am

    • Hahah…I really wanted to hurl something at someone, I really did! But yes, am at a calmer place now.

      ps: thank you!! you’re cool too, melly!

      pps: oh! so i don’t get to see it all long. btw, I am starting to hate my hair and think it is such a bother. I might just cut it short. let’s see if I actually go through with it!

      nabbycat

      November 25, 2011 at 5:08 pm


Leave a comment